At the company level, sharing a user with another company allows the sharing company to create users and maintain ownership of the shared user's day-to-day setup and user risk limits. The company with whom the user is shared creates, manages, and assigns the accounts to the shared user and maintains control of the risk settings on those accounts. For example, a buy-side firm can share users with an FCM, who can then assign accounts directly to those users, and can even control market data settings if needed. The buy-side is just responsible for creating users accounts.
If you shared a user with another company or if another company's user is shared with your company, consider the following restrictions on viewing or changing the user's settings or profile:
As a client, the user sharing functionality allows you to trade with multiple brokers and trading firms while remaining a member of your own firm. You can continue to use the same Trade application workspaces, order book, audit trail, etc. Your user risk limits are configured by your own company, but the account risk limits are provided by and managed by the company that you are being "shared" with.
However, if you leave your firm or company in the TT system to become a member or employee of another company, your workspaces, accounts, and positions remain with the company you are leaving. In this case, you would accept a second invitation from the new company to become an employee or member of that company.
As a company administrator, you can share your company users with another company by using the Company Relationships section on the Users | Profile tab in Setup.
Note: Unless they are leaving their firm to trade with yours, do not use the Setup invitation process to invite users in other companies to trade with your firm.
In order to provide their client with access to a market, companies may need to share a user with another company. In this case, the shared-with company will assign an account with the market's credentials to the shared user, then share that account "back" to the shared user's company.
However, a company may want to lock certain user fields (e.g., Operator ID) on the shared account or prevent companies from adding users to the related child accounts. As an administrator, there are two settings you can use when sharing an account with a user who has been shared with your company:
When the Can assign users to child accounts setting is unchecked on a shared account, consider the following:
In this example, a client firm (Client-A) shares one of their users (user1) with a broker (Broker-B) in order to provide "user1" with access to CME:
Note: Using Order Tag Defaults, Broker-B sets the "Operator ID" field on account1 and checks the Apply to all sub-accounts checkbox to ensure that any child accounts created under "account1" will send the Broker-B Operator ID to CME.
Note: When sharing the account, Broker-B unchecks the Can assign users to sub-accounts setting to ensure that only "user1" can trade with this account.