Users

Users

Assigning and managing user accounts

The Setup application allows you to manage accounts assigned to users, as well as users assigned to accounts. For example, as a company administrator, you can view all authorized users of an account and add/remove access to one or more users. You can also view all accounts that a user can trade with and add/remove one or more accounts for a single user.

Assigning accounts to a user

Use the Accounts tab on the user's screen to assign an existing order routing, clearing, or internal (non-order routing) account to a user and set their permissions for using the account. If an account is assigned to a user, they also have permissions to use any sub-accounts for that account.

Users can be assigned to child accounts, however, they cannot be assigned to a parent account and separately to only one of the child accounts. If two users are assigned to the same account, both users can view all order activity in that account.

To assign accounts to a user:

  1. Click Users in the left navigation pane.
  2. To select a user, click the check box next to a user in the grid. Multiple users can be selected.
  3. Click the Accounts tab for the selected user and click the +Add button in the Accounts section.

    The Select Accounts screen appears.

  4. Click on one or more accounts in the Select Accounts screen and click Select.

    The selected account is displayed in the Accounts section. The Order Permissions and Additional Permissions sections also appear for the selected account.

    Note: If an account name is listed in the Inherited column, it indicates that the user assignment and permissions for the selected account were "inherited" from this parent account.

  5. Set the following user permissions:

    • Update Positions (e.g., create manual fills) — Allows the user to enter manual fills/corrections to this account.

      Note: Account permissions apply to the parent account as well as any sub-accounts.

    • Submit Block/Cross Orders — Determines whether the user can submit Block and/or Cross trades.
    • Delete Orders — Allows the user of this account to delete orders when trading. This option must be checked (enabled) before enabling the order entry settings.
    • Submit Staged Orders — When this option is checked, it allows the user to place a staged order into the selected account and sub-accounts. For more details about each staged order option when assigning an account to a user or user to an account, refer to Staged Order Permissions.

    • Manage Own Staged Orders — When this option is checked, it allows the user to manage (i.e., claim/unclaim and potentially execute on-behalf-of) their own staged orders that were submitted into the selected account and sub-accounts.

      When unchecked, this option prevents a user from claiming his own staged orders.

      Uncheck this setting and check Manage Orders Staged by Others to allow users to only manage orders staged by others.

      Note: To set this option, the Submit Staged Orders option must be checked.

    • Manage Orders Staged by Others — Allows the user to manage (i.e., claim/unclaim and potentially execute on-behalf-of) any staged orders submitted into the selected account and sub-accounts that he did not submit. If Submit Staged Orders and Manage Own Staged Orders are also checked, then the user can also manage his own submitted staged orders.

      In order to view a staged order, potential owners (i.e, users that claim staged orders) must have this option set and have access to the staged order account. All orders in the account, both staged and non-staged orders, are viewable by all users assigned to the account.

      Note: To set this option, the Submit Staged Orders option must be checked.

    • Submit DMA Orders — Allows the user of this account to submit direct-market access orders. If checked (enabled), select Allow or Deny for the following:
      • Algos — Determines whether the user can deploy strategies to Algo SE servers. Includes ADL algos, TT Synthetic algos, TT SDK, and Autotrader.
      • Autospreader — Determines whether the user can deploy synthetic spread strategies to an Autospreader SE server.
      • GTC/GTDate — Determines whether the user can submit Good til Cancel and Good til Date orders.
      • Market — Determines whether the user can submit Market orders. When Deny is selected, the user cannot submit any Market order types, including: Stop Market, Market If Touched, or Market-To-Limit.
      • Mobile — Allows or disallows trading via mobile access to the TT platform.

        Note: This setting also also allows you set up different permissions on mobile accounts vs. accounts used for desktop trading.

    • Require AutoRFQ for Cross trades — When checked for a user or an account, this setting forces an RFQ prior to submitting a cross trade. Only a company administrator can enable this setting for a user/account in their company.
    • Staged Order Risk Check — Click in this field to select one of the following:
      • At Execution — Risk checking is applied to the staged order account when related child orders are executed.
      • Upon Claim — Risk checking is applied to the account when the staged order is claimed.
  6. Click Save Changes.

Managing user accounts

Tip: After selecting a user from the User Grid, you can hover on an account name in the Account Table and click the "open in new tab" icon to view/change/modify the account's settings without closing the user window. Use command-click (Mac) or Crtl-click (Windows) to open the accounts tab and remain on the user screen.

Modifying account permissions for a user

To modify account permissions for a user:

  1. Click Users in the left navigation pane and select a user.
  2. On the user's page, select the Accounts tab
  3. Click the checkbox next to the account name listed in the Accounts section.

    The Order Permissions and Additional Permissions sections appear.

  4. Modify the applicable permission settings and click Save.

    The modified permissions also appear in the Users | Accounts tab.

Removing an Account from a User

Use the Accounts tab to remove (unassign) existing accounts from a user.

To remove an account from an user:

  1. Click Users and then the Accounts tab.
  2. Select one or more entries in the Accounts section and click the Remove button.

    Note: Removing a parent account from a user also removes all child accounts from the user.

  3. Click Save changes.